My Blogging Journey!


Your blog is your unedited version of yourself. – lorelle

The other day I was thinking about my journey of blogging. I remember that I had initially started with a blog on Blogger in October 2010, when I was highly frustrated with my life. Back then I dint know much about blogging. I saw and read so many blogs and was surprised that the world of words was really large and was inviting too. And I was already full to the brim with feelings and had to vent them somewhere.  Also, I had stopped maintaining my diary. So I thought that blog would be a good medium to vent out my woes. Least did I know that this very platform would become an integral part of my life. Initially I was very active on it and posted some really sad poems and verses.I decorated it beautifully, changing its look every few days like it was a doll that I played with. But I soon lost interest in it, as it turned out to be making me more depressed than ever. Whenever I took a look at it, my heart would fill with such sorrow that made me think “Is my life so miserable?”. It was increasing negativity in me and as a result I stopped posting anything on it. After a few months..I deleted the blog.

But wait, I had already tasted the blood. The blood of writing. Discovering  Wordpress at that moment was like food to my thoughts. I explored WordPress and it did not disappoint me. So as soon as I deleted blogger, I created a new blog on WordPress. I decided that this would be a new beginning and that I wont post crap on it. So I started with small things in life and short poems. I used them to portray what I could not speak or whatever went in my mind. AND, I actually felt GOOD!! I dont know if it was the change of blogging service or something else, but now when I looked at my blog, I felt happy.I felt positive. This inspired me to a large extent, inspired me to write about various things that were happening or non happening in my life, in a creative way. Or may be just plain simple write up. Its not exactly a long way but still I have achieved a lot, not in materialistic terms but in other more meaningful ways.

Blogging for me has acted as a –

Liberating process : I wasn’t sure what I would be doing blogging. Gradually, I started pouring out my thoughts into the blog on a continuous basis.  I wrote whatever came in my mind, I wrote whenever I found time. Gradually I realized that blogging was not just blogging for me anymore. It was much more than that. Penning down the thoughts was so very liberating. I realized that it made me free from within. I felt a sense of achievement after I wrote something, be it a poem, an article or something random. In the past, this creative process took place offline, sometimes alone, sometimes with like-minded people. In a sense, blogging allows people choose, on what art form they want to skill, the fact that everyone is an artist.

Blogging Books : Those who are continuous readers of my blog, are fully aware how much I love books. Initially I posted what I felt. That included my personal views on a topic in the form of an article or poem or humor. But as I was getting engrossed in the world of words, luckily I was getting to read some awesome-est books at the same time. Book blogging has encouraged me to read more and more widely. I have learned a lot as well through writing reviews and reading and knowing what I like and what I dont. I like it when I see more people reading books that spending time elsewhere. I like it when I am able to provide them reviews of really good books. I feel good when I get to write about something that I love the most i.e Books.  That is a satisfaction in itself. I have posted quite a few reviews, one of them being an invitation by Blogadda. Boy, did I feel happy? Answer – Superhappy!

Testing Ideas : Blogging is a good and safe way of testing ones ideas – sharing the stuff that you would like to write upon with others and getting their feedbacks.The learning that I’m doing here is keeping my mind active and stimulating me to ever more creative thought. I usually try to blog about something that goes on in my mind for long. In the beginning I wasn’t sure if I should write about those particular topics but as I experimented with the topics and actually got response, a mixture of calm and excitement was felt within. Blogging has by all odds, been a better medium to pouring out the deepest thoughts that otherwise clog one’s mind and are a cause of unrest.

Connecting With People : I read so much interesting stuff daily and meet so many interesting people on WordPress! There are so many great blogs to follow–I could sit in front of the computer reading all day. But that just doesn’t seem to be possible cz of me doing job. Blogging makes me feel that every other work is co-curricular activity 😛 But even co-curriculars need to be done sometimes!

I think blogging has a lot to offer to both new and experienced writers. Also I tend to analyze things quite a bit so its nice to write something down online and to look back at when I started, and how my posts have amended over time. I try to make my posts useful to readers. I find that I am more thoughtful, more aware of what goes on day to day than I was before. And I have to say I like it, I like it, I really really like it! I feel that blogging is its own education. Too bad you can’t get college credit for it! The journey that I started an year back has led me through beautiful pathways that I guess forms a non-separable part of me.

Here I end my post as to what blogging has done to me over time. I am sure everyone who blogs must be having something to answer about the following questions:What have you learned from pouring your thoughts out there for the whole world to read? Where has your blogging journey led you to?

Tc people! have a nice day ahead.

PS: This post can be considered as a birthday present to my blog which is on 21st of May. Still 5 days to go but could not wait till then. This blog would be completing its 1 year on 21st!! Yayyy! *claps happily* 😀  

4 thoughts on “My Blogging Journey!

  1. Hey, belated happy birthday to you and your blog! 🙂 Yes.. you are right! Its great along with a little tough. Thanks for wishing and liking my posts! Best wishes to you too 🙂

    Like

  2. Congratz in advance on ur blogs first anniversary. I also completed 1yr of blogging last month.( that was also my b’day). Even i tried blogging twice before & deleted it. Its great to find similarity in blogging habits of people, though i post less frequently & not so active in making blogger frnds.
    Hope ur blogging keeps on track. keep smiling.

    Like

Leave a Reply

