Why don’t people carry pen?


I don’t know. I carry pen at all times with me and I am very possessive about the stationary that I carry. But thats not the concern. The concern is, why others don’t carry pen with them. By others, I mean, people who call themselves literate, educated, qualified, professional..

Most such people don’t carry or keep a pen/stationary with them when they go out to work. They don’t find it necessary. They feel its a hassle. They don’t think about it. Now, this may seem silly, but its always better to keep a pen with you. People who ask for a pen when they are in bank, or they are giving interviews or when they have joined a new work place, do not leave a good impression. And trust me, it does not go down well with the person who is giving you the pen(person like me). He will always look at you a moment longer while handing it over and will keep an eye on you until you give it back. People who borrow pens and never give them back are an altogether different story. Since nobody wants to be the whiner asking for their paperclip or hair elastic, these misfits just disappear into the abyss. We, the pen givers are again, the sufferers. But, as the gyaanis say, one must learn to let go!

It shouldn’t hurt either men or women who, these days keep big, fancy laptop bags and hand bags that are stuffed with everything of need. A pen is such a small thing.

Pens are a sensitive issue when you look at it the way it is. This post here is not about encouraging people to have good habits. They probably think they have better good habits than this. Its only that not keeping pens with you and asking for them at every place is very very annoying. I don’t mind lending out things, but I don’t lend out any of my good stuff. All my pens that write well are all hidden away. They are mine. I know I’ll never get anything back, that’s why I lend out my crappy supplies. If you want something good, you gotta go get it yourselves!!

“Pen-bereavement is a serious matter.”
― Anne FadimanEx Libris: Confessions of a Common Reader

Also, this:

Leave a Reply

